Update on linking and advertising

I got another email today from the same guy I mentioned in a previous post. This time, however, the email is coming from a GMail address… he might have read my blog post and decided that displaying the actual website he’s trying to advertise is not a good idea?

Anyway, this is the email that I received, in full, if you get an email like it than be warned – it is probably Search Engine Optimisation (probably just internet spam in order to boost Google advertising revenue or something).

From: charles.leich@gmail.com
Subject: Interested in Purchasing Textlink Advertising

Hi ,
I am interested in purchasing textlink advertising on your website phillsacre.me.uk . Let me know if interested and we can discuss further details. I can make a good offer to make it worth your time.

Let me know!

Charles Leich

From what I know of SEO, ‘Leich’ is probably quite a good name!


4 responses to “Update on linking and advertising”

  1. Yep, he’s been hitting me too.

    The first two times I just ignored the mails. After the third time I started flagging it as spam.

  2. Thank you for blogging about this. I’m not sure what’s up here, but it sounds suspicious. I also blogged about it and linked here.

    :{> Andy

  3. I’m glad I mentioned it now… the more people who are aware of SEO techniques (or ‘scams’) like this the better!

  4. Hi,

    I got an email form John.Hoppin@gmail.com for purchasing textlink ads for specific pages on my site.

    Please advise me on this email.Will these guys send payment as promised in the mail if I display ads.

    Is there any risk involved?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

Like this? Subscribe to my Substack.